Five Sentence Fiction – The Blooming Year

In the spring morning, you did not know me, for I did not yet know myself.

As the summer breeze played over us, it lifted your lips into a smile that mine could dance upon.

When the leaves began to fall, your touch grew only warmer to shield us

And the chill of winter could not reach us as two paths became one, united in love

So let the years fall away from the calendar, so long as our hearts are always interlaced.


My entry for this week’s Five Sentence Fiction Challenge. Some of you may guess quickly whose story this is, and if not, that’s okay. Because if you’ve had a year like this, then this is for you.

I hope you all enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Five Sentence Fiction – The Blooming Year

  1. Mayumi-H says:

    Slowly catching back up with your entries…!

    I don’t know who the intended protags are, here, but my mind goes instantly to Souji speaking to Yukiko, from P4. Perhaps for the year motif, and the theme of finding oneself. Regardless, I love this line:
    “it lifted your lips into a smile that mine could dance upon.
    What a beautiful description that melds its way into the motion and emotion of a kiss! I’m mesmerized. ❀

    So glad to see you are getting so much writing in, and that you're willing to share it with us. πŸ™‚

    • Greetings, Mayumi!
      No worries, take all the time you need, these little tidbits aren’t going anywhere πŸ™‚
      And you’d be correct, that is exactly who I had in mind when I saw this prompt. There’s just a gentleness and a natural flow to their storyline and love that I can always go to in a pinch πŸ™‚

      Yeah, one benefit of being on the road a lot lately is plenty of writing time! I happy you liked it so!

      • Mayumi-H says:

        I love that you still write about Souji and Yukiko. ❀ When I was in Japan, I saw a lot of P4 stuff, but it just didn't grab me enough to pick any of it up. That felt kind of sad.

        I'm impressed you can write so much while traveling! I always have a hard time making time for it. Of course, now, I need to make up for that hiatus…!

        Looking forward to reading more of your work, both going back and moving forward. πŸ™‚

      • Aww, thank you! I’m glad you enjoy seeing these two still πŸ™‚ These two are just one of my two “go-to” couples when I feel that romantic side of the pen come out. The other would be Wedge and Iella, though they can be a lot more dynamic sometimes, lol.
        Oh, I’m sure you’ll catch up in grand style! Working on a NaNo challenge certainly has no lack of opportunities!

Leave a Reply

