100(ish) Word Challenge – Magician’s Chariot

The coffee was growing cold in his hand, though he didn’t notice. He was hoping the falling snow would distract him from what was racing behind them. All the warmth in his heart that came to mind at the mention of her name. The tingle of her hair playing through his fingers and the spark of his lips to hers.

All these places they’d been, but where were they going?

Light-brown hair tickled his arm as she leaned into him, “You’re up early.”

“Yeah,” he replied without looking.

“Took my warmth, jerk…”she murmured sleepily, snaking her arms into his robe.

Youske sighed, embracing her in return. “Chie…will you marry me?”


And entry #3 in this week’s 100 Word Challenge, though I kind of cheated with this one and overshot the count. Had to be done though, as some moments needs that extra flex 🙂

I hope you all enjoy.

2 thoughts on “100(ish) Word Challenge – Magician’s Chariot

  1. Mayumi-H says:

    Am I a cheeseball for guessing who these were from the first few sentences? 😀
    It’s impressive that you keep their voices so distinct even though you haven’t written these P4 characters for a while (that I’ve seen). The light banter is great, and contrasts nicely with that momentous last sentence. I think my favorite bit is the line that starts, “He was hoping the falling snow would distract him…” There’s a depth and an apprehension about it that feels fitting for this character in this situation. 🙂
    Nice to see you writing so much!

    • Not at all 🙂 I may or may not have written this one with 1MC! in mind.
      The P4 cast have found themselves a solid place in my memories, even if I don’t revisit them as much as others anymore. There has been a burst of them lately with this and a few other things lately you may like.
      And honestly, I was worried that I made Youske TOO apprehensive in this case at first, since we both agree that this is where and with who he naturally ends up with.

      Still, I’m happy you liked it so!

Leave a Reply

